from 4 reviews
- Blue O Two - Middle East & Red Sea, Malta and Gozo, Maldives
23rd April 2012 by jackierals
What a great week!
Visit Date: April 2012
Was more than happy with the boat however, she is like a lot of the others in the Red Sea. But the staff on this boat were head & shoulders above the others I have been on (2 other companies). Dive guides, dive crew & the boat staff were all fantastic and went the extra mile every time. Cabins were extremely clean and the food was excellent with all obscure requests (always from me) being met. Only downside was having to pay extra for Nitrox. Come on Blue o Two, no one else charges extra?, and flying to Hurghada which then meant a 3hr coach trip to Marsa Alam.
31st March 2012 by Siobhan
Visit Date: March 2012
This was the first time I had dived with anyone else but Emperor in the Red Sea. I had the most amazing week aboard Blue Fin. The staff were just superb. Helped you out all the time. We wanted for nothing during the week - well, apart from the weather/wind to improve as that disrupted our intended schedule on the Simply the Best itinerary. We made it to Brothers but had to leave the itinerary thereafter due to exceptionally high winds. Yes we were disappointed, but the crew made sure that we got compensation in the form of excellent alternative dive sites. As a result we continued to dive safely and had safe journeys in very very rough waters. The food was exquisite aboard the boat and catered for vegetarians absolutely fabulously. The boat was kept clean and tidy at all times. Semille and Hamdi (the cabin and saloon staff) were just sublime - thank you. A great weeks diving with superb crew and boat.
10th October 2010 by Divebuddy
Blue Fin has a problem
Visit Date: September 2010
I've just read the review from 2008 and Blue Fin has changed so much! The best part was the crew, who were friendly and helpful to the last. Food was good and they tried so hard to please everyone! (more pancakes please!) Diving was fantastic (we did the deep south and it was awesome) Only one thing let the whole trip down and that was a fault with the boat - the desalination tanks run 24/7 and every couple of hours the air expands inside and it sounds like an explosion on board! I woke terrified the first night despite being dog tired after flight. The owners know about it - why isn't it fixed yet?? Broken sleep spoilt the holiday for me.
Management Response from BlueOTwo:
Many thanks for the review - we are thrilled to hear that you had such a good time! We would like to apologise for the issue with the desalination tanks - we were aware of the issue, but it required more than a turnover day to fix. The problem came from the fresh water tanks and they have now been replaced (during the most recent dry dock) and the issue is sorted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Scubadviser.
24th July 2009 by Accipitor
Not good enough
Visit Date: October 2008
We dived with many Oceanic White Tip sharks and they were awesome. The boat was tacky and tired, our toilet flushed continuously for 7 nights, the food was quite poor and the Egyptian crew were lazy and rude. They had problems filling Nitrox and mixed air with oxygen never quite getting to 32% (I think I recorded 30% on the last day). We have been on many Red Sea liveaborads and my wife used to teach on some. There were a number of unhappy guests on the boat that week. This was way below the quality that Scuba Travel (Tony Backhurst) provides with his fleet. Our complaint was dealt with dismissively by their German Operations Director. Their other boats might be better, but they do not really offer a luxury service.