Scuba Destinations

 

Go West Diving

4 Star Rating  from 4 reviews

GO WEST Diving is located at one of Curaçao’s best dive sites, Alice in Wonderland, right on the idyllic sandy beach of Playa Kalki in Westpunt. The dive center offers the full range of PADI courses (up to dive master), quality equipment rental and an air filling station.

Technical: Yes
Snorkelling: No
Accreditation: PADI 5 Star Instructor Development Center
Go West Diving
Westpunt E5
PO Box 3615
Westpoint Beach
Curaçao
Netherlands Antilles

Telephone: +(599 9) 864-0102
Email:sales@gowestdiving.com
Web:www.gowestdiving.com

Reviews

[ Please login to add a review ]

3rd May 2011 by MrsMcMonty

Wasted an entire day of my honeymoon

1 Star Rating

Visit Date: April 2011

I was very excited to try my first scuba diving experience with Ocean Encounters West on my honeymoon in Curacao. We booked via email several weeks in advance to ensure our place. We arrived early as instructed to fill out some “paperwork”. When I wrote down that I have asthma, I was told that I couldn’t dive without a permission slip from my doctor. Since I was obviously hundreds of miles away from my doctor, our day of adventure was completely ruined. If this paperwork had been sent to us in advance, we would have taken care of having the necessary paperwork in hand. Therefore, I would have to say my experience with Ocean Encounters West completely wasted an entire day of my honeymoon and was extremely disappointing. Even more frustrating was the staff’s attitude about the mistake. They just shrugged their shoulders, never once apologizing. When my husband wrote in to request a refund of our deposit since we weren’t allowed to dive, we didn’t get an apology for their mistake then either. The only response we got was “The refund is already done. I'm sorry it didn't work out with the scuba.”

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 1 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 0 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 0 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 0 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 0 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 0 Star Rating
Dive briefing 0 Star Rating
Dive Leader 0 Star Rating
Value for money 1 Star Rating
0/5 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

1st March 2011 by koilady

Best diving EVER!!

5 Star Rating

Visit Date: January 2011

We stayed at the All West, was a great place..awesome views and big room..we had the one bedroom suite not a studio.Nice and quiet (a little too secluded for us though) the diving was the best we've ever seen. Even the shore diving was fantastic...really fantastic!! OEW was a great dive operation...huge boats, great shop, fantastic guides...clean, safe and fun as hell. I would come back to dive with them tomorrow!!

I love the island but we got the stink eye so much it was weird. The locals are unfriendly and not helpful at all. Having said that, the ones that deal with tourists daily are great.. the locals that don't, aren't. It may be a lot of reasons but it was strange to us. I think i could win them over if i was there a while though..lol. The thefts are troubling. If it isn't nailed down, it's gone and break ins are rampant...be warned! Just don't take anything expensive with you and leave nothing in your car and you'll be ok. I didn't feel unsafe or anything.

Back to the diving...IT'S PHENOMINAL!!!! OEW...also PHENOMINAL...GO WEST!!

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 5 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 0 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 0 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 5 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 5 Star Rating
Dive briefing 5 Star Rating
Dive Leader 5 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

21st February 2011 by franks402

OEW made our first dive trip fantastic!

5 Star Rating

Visit Date: March 2010

We researched this trip thoroughly, and could not have made a better choice for our first dive trip. We rented an apartment for the week at All West. There is access to dive facilites on site for shore diving, and All West uses Ocean Encounters West as their dive shop. OEW is only a couple of minutes away by car, or you can walk the shortcut.

Even though this was our first trip, I am comfortable saying that OEW is a top-notch operation. They were accommodating to us newbies and still attentive to the more experienced divers. The gear is in terrific condition, and the attention to safety made us feel at ease. We had two dive masters on each trip, and the captain stayed aboard. Entry is giant stride off the stern. The dive boat Palavos holds 20, and we had at least 12 on each dive, but even with 18 it was still comfortable. The cabin gets wet on the rides out and back, but you can move to the bow to stay dry. The crew brings around snacks and drinks during surface intervals. They were all very professional, but still a lot of fun. Our fellow divers were usually a mix of American, Dutch and German with varied experience. All seemed to have a great time. We dove Playa Kalki, Mushroom Forest, Sponge Forest, Watamula, Henry's Hole, Alice in Wonderland (shore dive in front the apartment), and snorkeled the Blue Room and the wreck at Jeremi. The coral was beautiful and the assortment of tropical fish was stunning, with lots of schooling fish. I have to say that was my favorite thing - to stop and upright myself and spin 360 degrees in a school of brilliantly colored fish! We saw a huge variety of small fish, a flounder, a small school of barracuda, morays and a slippery lobster in the Blue Room.

I would absolutely recommend All West and OEW for any level of diver, and to anyone looking for a wonderful relaxing holiday.

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 5 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 5 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 5 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 5 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 5 Star Rating
Dive briefing 5 Star Rating
Dive Leader 5 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
6 photo(s)
  • dsc01191-634338464790131250. 911
  • dsc01186-634338464858412500. 912
  • dsc01189-634338464867475000. 913
  • dsc01192-634338464875912500. 914
  • dsc01196-634338464885756250. 915
  • dsc01198-634338464894350000. 916
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

18th June 2009 by rivkingsfan67

we almost don't want anyone else to know our secret!!

5 Star Rating

Visit Date: August 2008

The west side of Curacao is the absolute best.

We stayed in All West Apartments but Curacao Sunshine is closeby if you want something a little more spiffy. we got the truck, apartment and diving all thru All West/Ocean Encounters West and could not be more pleased.

These apartments are tiny and have tiny stoves, tiny fridges and only two rooms (the bathroom... and the everything else room) but this is still our favorite trip up against any resort we've stayed at.

Our view from our balcony (everyone gets one) was unbeatable and while we tried other reefs, we all agreed our house reef and Alice In Wonderland (Ocean Encounter's house reef) were our favorites.

We were on our own and rarely went below 60ft so routinely had 1 1/2 hour dives. how do you compare?!?

The only thing that threw us off initially was the lack of information on checking in and so forth, but once we got past that, this place was exactly what should be in the dictionary beside "Island Time".

We love it

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 4 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 4 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 4 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 4 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 4 Star Rating
Dive briefing 5 Star Rating
Dive Leader 4 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
9 photo(s)
  • April 2009 Bonaire 027-633831805933826250. 321
  • April 2009 Bonaire 109-633831806035701250. 322
  • April 2009 Bonaire 140-633831806096638750. 323
  • April 2009 Bonaire 161-633831806227732500. 324
  • April 2009 Bonaire 332-633831806290545000. 325
  • April 2009 Bonaire 337-633831806353982500. 326
  • April 2009 Bonaire 411-633831806432263750. 327
  • April 2009 Bonaire 447-633831806495388750. 328
  • April 2009 Bonaire 482-633831806613826250. 329
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

Scubadviser Search