Scuba Destinations

 

Geko Dive

4 Star Rating  from 7 reviews

We have recently been awarded GoEco Operator status by Project AWARE in recognition of our environmental efforts. We are one of only 8 Dive operators in Indonesia to be granted this status. Geko Dive prefers comfortable small groups (max.4 divers per Dive Master or Instructor) We offer the full range of PADI certification Courses

Geko Dive LogoOur PADI Dive Resort and Dive School is located on Bali's tranquil east coast in Padang Bai, a small, typical Balinese fishing village with three gorgeous white sand Beaches where Bali still is Bali.

Bali's best Dive sites are luckily just in front of our doorstep, most of them we reach with our own Dive Speed Boat, no long exhausting car rides before you plunge into Bali's fascinating underwater world.

With the privilege of having an incredible diversity of amazing creatures so close comes responsibility. We understand this at Geko Dive and this is the basis for our conservation, education and recycling projects.

 

Technical: No
Snorkelling: Yes
Accreditation: PADI 5 Star Dive Resort
Geko Dive
Jalan Silayukti
Padangbai
Karangasem
Bali
80872
Indonesia

Telephone: +62 (0)363 41516
Fax:+62 (0)363 41516
Email:gekodive@indosat.net.id
Web:www.gekodive.com
  • Geko Dive Logo
  • Zen - Geko Dive
  • Geko Dive

Reviews

[ Please login to add a review ]
Review Date Title Photos
Overall Rating
15th December 2012 Geko Dive Padang Bai No 5 Star Rating
25th May 2010 Great Dives may 2010 (Manta and Sunfish) No 5 Star Rating
1st April 2010 divemaster course at geko dive No 4 Star Rating
28th March 2010 Boss and Staff provided a memorable experience doing my DMT with Geko Dive No 4 Star Rating
21st March 2010 A great experience. No 4 Star Rating
Previous Reviews

15th December 2012 by johntendell

Geko Dive Padang Bai

5 Star Rating

Visit Date: August 2012

Do yourself a favour, come to Padang Bai Bali for some fantastic diving, Mola Mola in season, always manta rays and sharks plus great corals and macro life. To make your diving experience the best, dive with Geko Dive. I have been diving with them since 2005 and since August, having retired here, have dived 3 days a week with them. The management are professional and friendly as are the dive guides. Small groups with great guides who know the waters and currents. You will be well looked after knowing you will be safe in the water.

Come and join us, you won't regret it

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 5 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 4 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 5 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 5 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 5 Star Rating
Dive briefing 4 Star Rating
Dive Leader 5 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

25th May 2010 by apx031

Great Dives may 2010 (Manta and Sunfish)

5 Star Rating

Visit Date: May 2010

I rang Geko on spec after arriving in Bali mid-May and explained I wanted a few days diving but hadn't been in the water for nearly 2 years. The first dive my air consumption was appalling, but thanks to 5 minute buddying on the Dive masters tank(thankyou) I didn't ruin the rest of the parties dive and got to see Manta's, second dive a fantastic drift on coral and 65 minutes at 25 - 15 m (a little practice helps), leaf fish, conger, sea krait etc.

I then dived with them on many occasions over the next ten days, they were a very friendly, professional well organised team and a pleasure to be in the water with, the dive masters were exceptional and spotted fish/features that I could not hope to have seen otherwise. A big thanks in particular goes for the first Mola Mola of the season - Yeehaa

I would have no reservations in recommending the Geko team to anyone looking for someone to dive with in Bali ( and their brand new boat get you there Bl**dy fast) Cheers GEKO - Malcolm (the Taylor)

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 5 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 5 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 5 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 5 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 5 Star Rating
Dive briefing 4 Star Rating
Dive Leader 5 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

1st April 2010 by chuni112

divemaster course at geko dive

4 Star Rating

Visit Date: February 2010

Came to Bali to do my divemaster course in Feb and made my way to Padangbai a small fisherman village and it felt great as soon as i steped out from the taxi, i went down the beach road and at the end i saw Geko Dive a very nice diveshop with sand floor, had a great feeling to it, sat down and had a chat to Cynthia (the owner) a very kind lady from England,

I can highly recommend this place, its not just a diveshop its a place were you feel like they care about you and your experience with them. the professionlism is on the top and the guides are funny, friendly, Balinese people.  Throughout my training I had the chance to go and explore many dive sights, and learn in challenging dive conditions. I also assisted in open water, Advanced, and Rescue diver courses... I finished my divemaster a few days ago and I feel very confident as a divermaster.

A big thank you to my instructor Tessa from California and all the staff from Geko Dive. Geko Dive is MORE than just a dive shop-- its a family of divers... I look forward to the day that I come back to dive with Cynthia and the rest of the gang...

http://www.gekodive.com/

Management Response from Geko Dive:

You are very welcome to come back anytime!! It has been a pleasure having you.

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 5 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 5 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 5 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 5 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 5 Star Rating
Dive briefing 4 Star Rating
Dive Leader 5 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

28th March 2010 by DivaDiver

Boss and Staff provided a memorable experience doing my DMT with Geko Dive

4 Star Rating

Visit Date: July 2009

I did my Rescue Diver and Divemaster training and internship with Geko Dive last year under the recommendation of a German couple who had been diving with Geko for the last 8 years.

I had first written to Geko in 2008 with the intention of doing the above courses that year, but my plans were postponed to 2009 when I discovered I had a slipped disc. When I wrote to Geko again in early 2009, I received a warm and enthusiastic welcome from Cynthia, the boss of Geko, who maintained the prices she quoted in our correspondence a year past. My questions were always answered promptly and completely. While visiting Bali was not the first time for me, staying in Padang Bai (PB), southeast of Bali, for 2 months required some arrangements for accommodation. Cynthia provided advice and then arranged a homestay (like the Bed & Breakfast in England) that fitted my budget prior to my arrival. I was also picked up at the airport by Geko Dive when I arrived late in the night and nicely tucked into bed on my first night in PB.

My friends had recommended that Cynthia be my instructor, for they had known her in the past years of diving with Geko to be an outstanding instructor. However, due to her pregnancy, she had arranged for two locum instructors to provide the Rescue Diver and then the DMT instead. My DMT instructor was Marcel Hagendijk who was experienced and highly qualified (in Tec-diving as well) who was a patient and dedicated teacher who painstakingly explained physics and mathematical concepts and principles that were hard for me to grasp initially. What Cynthia could not do herself physically, she made up for it by supervision and regularly checking with myself, the student, and the instructors on issues that might arise. She is approachable and made herself available—even by mobile phone when she is not at the shop—to attend to students and customers alike when pressing issues arise.

The staff at Geko, although initially shy, quickly warmed up after a few days of my arrival. They took their job seriously and walk the talk of “safety first”. Because there are both experienced and recently-certified divers all over Bali, and Bali is also notorious for its ripping and down currents at certain dive sites, the high standard that Cynthia and the staff at Geko adhere to is completely justified. They are well-prepared (always bringing spare equipment) and always have another staff in addition to the DM trainee (DMT) watching divers from the back during dives.

Cynthia, warm, genuine and approachable, also takes the extra mile of making DMTs feel at home away from home. She organized graduation ceremonies and birthday celebrations for the DMTs, and invited everyone including both transient and local staff to her home for festivities and birthdays. Cynthia even offered her own home (nothing we could afford with our budget) in PB as accommodation (paying only for utilities and cable TV we use) to the DMTs and instructors who were really tourists trying to extend our stay on shoe-string budgets when she left Bali for a few months for the delivery of her 2nd child. In addition, she also offered DMTs the 20% discount she would get from purchasing dive equipment as a store (vs. 10% discount as a DMT) and personally brought me shopping for a pair of fins in town when she was running errands!

I think that as a DMT and coming from another land, another culture, our experience of internship would be much more pleasant and our learning more effective when we the first step in breaking the ice and making ourselves part of the work team by doing all the work that the local staff also does, such as carrying tanks, fitting customers to rental gear, attending to enquiries, cleaning up equipment after dives, etc.

I had a great experience and would definitely recommend others to do their DMT and to dive with Geko.

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 5 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 4 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 5 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 5 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 5 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 4 Star Rating
Dive briefing 4 Star Rating
Dive Leader 5 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

21st March 2010 by SimonHillier1977

A great experience.

4 Star Rating

Visit Date: June 2009

I arrived in Bali in June of 2009 after completing my Open Water and Advanced in Thailand (Ko Phi Phi) and spending another 10 days on Ko Tao. I decided that I really wanted to continue with my learning and look for opportunities in the Diving Industry. On arriving in Padang Bai I was quickly impressed by Geko dive and had no hesitation in signing up to do both my Rescue and Divemaster courses. The instructor (Marcel), another DMT and Cynthia (who wasn't diving due to being pregnant) really made me feel at home. I completed my DM course over the period of 8 weeks (I actually stayed in Bali for 4 months) and in that time made over 120 dives, some of which can only be described as epic.

Cynthia's husband (Coral) is one of the most respected guides in Bali, I was lucky enough to dive with him on occasion, including a great dive with 4 Mola Mola.

I was able to learn a lot more about diving and the dive industry for the very helpful staff, including a fabulous boat crew (always ready to help you with that item you forgot!).

I went from the usual "Ko blah blah blah" factory AOW diver with 22 dives (a lot more than most in Thailand). To a DM with 150 dives and experience of some seriously testing and changeable conditions. My education at Geko gave me a great deal of experience and exposure to all aspects of Diving, from handling customers at the front desk right through to customer briefings on the boat.

If you are looking for a shop and a location in the world to do your courses, from Open Water to DM then I can highly recommend Geko dive.

Ratings are based on 1 (Dissatisfied) to 5 (Totally Satisfied)
The staff was attentive and informative 4 Star Rating
The rental equipment was clean 4 Star Rating
My personal gear was washed and stored away 2 Star Rating
The quality of the dive trip 4 Star Rating
Attention to safety & environment 3 Star Rating
Condition of the dive boats 3 Star Rating
Dive briefing 4 Star Rating
Dive Leader 4 Star Rating
Value for money 5 Star Rating
0/0 found this review helpful
Rate this review
Report this reviewLoading...

Previous Reviews
Scubadviser Search