Scuba Destinations


Northern Territory


The Northern Territory occupies much of the center of the mainland of Australia (click for the map), as well as the central northern regions. It is Australia’s real outback and home to the iconic natural wonders of Kakadu National Park and Uluru/Ayers Rock.

Steeped in history, on 9 September 1839, the HMS Beagle sailed into Darwin harbour during its surveying of the area.  John Clements Wickham named the region "Port Darwin" in honour of a former shipmate, famed scientist Charles Darwin.  It is now the capital city.

In 1942, 188 Japanese aircraft descended upon Darwin. The first raid lasted 45 minutes and the second only 20-25 minutes, but in that short time more bombs were dropped on Darwin than in the more infamous attack on Pearl Harbour.  A total of 243 people were killed, most of them on the 8 ships that were sunk in Darwin Harbour. 

After WW2, a Japanese salvage company won the contract to salvage the remains of the wrecks, but were not allowed to remove any of the American-owned cargo that still lies on the wrecks today

It has two distinctive climate zones. The northern end, including Darwin has a tropical climate with high humidity and two seasons, the wet (November to April) and dry season (May to October), and Central Australia has a desert climate.

Need to know:

In Australia, you must have a Recreational scuba diving medical to Australian Standard 4005.1 2000 (AS4005.1 2000).

The South Pacific Underwater Medicine Society lists doctors who have completed a Diving Medical Course and will be able to perform these Medicals. Medicals incur a fee which you pay directly to the doctor.

Useful stuff:
Language: English
Currency: Australian $
Time: GMT
Climate: Tropical (north)
Semi-arid (central)
Natural hazards: Cyclones
Diving season: Year round
Water temperature:
Air Temperature


Australasia - Northern Territory: Latest User Reviews

Sorry no reviews found, why not be the first to add one.
Scubadviser Search